Learning JS Properly

Looks like I’m going to begin another course! …well, study group actually.

A good friend of mine, who’s been a professional coder for a few years, suggested that I make sure I completely learn Javascript if I am to seriously consider breaking in to the world of Web Development. He gave me a link to a 6-8 week JS study roadmap, which I coincidentally had already found. There is a study group that just started on Monday at /r/learnjavascript that I’m going to take an active role in.

I’m really excited to get to work and really bolster my knowledge! I think having a bit of structure and knowing that other people are going to be doing this with me is both encouraging and motivating. I hope to be able to collaborate with people and get help while also helping others throughout the remainder of the course. Below is what I’ll have to do for week 1. I’ll be back when I’m done to make some comments on the assignments.

FIRST WEEK ASSIGNMENTS:

  1. If you don’t know HTML/CSS pretty well, do the Web Fundamentals track on Codecademy.
  2. Read the Preface and Chapters 1 and 2 of JavaScript: The Definitive Guide OR read the Introduction and Chapters 1 and 2 of Professional JavaScript for Web Developers.
  3. Work through section 1 of the JS Track on Codecademy.
  4. Make a least one comment in this thread about something you learned, found interesting, or didn’t understand very well.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

